SEYCHELLES – Early voters cast ballots




Voting started yesterday in special voting stations around the country to choose between six candidates a president who will lead the country for the next five years.

Voting got off smoothly and will continue today and tomorrow, Saturday December 5, the main polling day.

Besides special stations at English River and Praslin (Baie Ste Anne primary school dining hall) for essential services staff who will be on duty away from their electoral areas on Saturday, there were others at the North East Point regional old people’s home for its residents and for patients from the North East Point hospital, on Ile Perseverance for people living on Ile Perseverance but registered in different electoral areas, at the Montagne Posée prison for people on remand, and at the National Library for voters from inner islands and electoral areas on Praslin who will be on Mahé on Saturday December 5.


This was the first time in the history of Seychelles that people on remand were able to vote in an election.

Residents on the following inner and outer islands – Silhouette, Coetivy, Platte, Farquhar, Alphonse, Desroches, Poivre, D’Arros and Astove – also voted yesterday.


The six candidates – James Michel of Parti Lepep, David Pierre of Popular Democratic Movement, Patrick Pillay of Lalyans Seselwa, Wavel Ramkalawan of Seychelles National Party, Alexia Amesbury of Seychelles Party for Social Justice and Democracy, and independent candidate Philippe Boullé — visited some of the polling stations and watched people voting quietly.


Seychelles NATION saw Mr Michel and Mrs Amesbury at the Perseverance polling station and the two did not hesitate to shake hands and have a friendly chat as foreign and local observers as well as voters in line watched.

Yesterday, Mr Michel also visited the English River, North East Point, Silhouette and Praslin polling stations. Mrs Amesbury was also seen at the Montagne Posée station as well as Mr Pillay and Mr Boullé.

As for Mr Pierre he was seen at the North East Point station and Mr Ramkalawan was spotted at the Perseverance station.


US ambassador Shari Villarosa and Dave Jones of the British high commission were seen at some polling stations.

Today voting will take place on Ile Aux Vaches (8.45am to 10am), Ile Denis (11am to 12 noon), Fregate (2pm to 3pm), Assumption (10.30am to 11am), Marie-Louise (9.30am to 9.45am) and Remire (11am to 11.30m).

Tomorrow, the main polling day, voting will take place in all of the country’s 25 electoral areas from 7am to 7pm.

There will also be an additional polling station at the Exhibition Wing of the National Library from 7am to 12 noon for voters from the inner islands and the electoral areas of Praslin who are present on Mahé on that day.

Voting in the 25 electoral areas on Saturday December 5 will take place as follows, with the location of the polling stations in brackets:


Anse Aux Pins (primary school dining hall), Anse Boileau (community centre), Au Cap (primary school dining hall), Anse Etoile (community centre), Anse Royale (community centre), Bel Air (Bel Eau school dining hall), Baie Lazare (primary school dining hall), Baie Ste Anne (primary school dining hall), Beau Vallon (community centre), Bel Ombre (community centre), Cascade (primary school dining hall), English River (School Meal Centre), Glacis (new primary school dining hall), Grand Anse Mahé (primary school dining hall), Grand Anse Praslin (community centre), Inner Islands (La Digue district administration office), Les Mamelles (community centre), Mont Buxton (La Rosière primary school dining hall), Mont Fleuri (Ex-Seychelles College hall), Plaisance (primary school dining hall), Port Glaud (community centre), Pointe  Larue (primary school dining hall), Roche Caiman (community centre), St Louis (Belonie school, ex- St John Bosco), Takamaka (community centre).


Although the observers would not make any comments about what they saw yesterday, it could be said that the first day of voting went well with almost no hiccups.



Source :


Seychelles Nation (Seychelles)